Recommended General Purpose and Free SEO Tools

Note: This article was last updated on 24 Apr 2017.

Here are some of my favorite and free SEO and other general purpose marketing tools (some of them are paid for more functionality) that will help you do marketing more easily than ever.

SEO Tools

  1. Varvy: https://varvy.com/ 
  2. Moz: https://moz.com/free-seo-tools
  3. Small SEO Tools: http://smallseotools.com/
  4. Screaming Frog: https://www.screamingfrog.co.uk/seo-spider/
  5. Google Webmaster Tools: https://www.google.com/webmasters/
  6. Google PageSpeed Insights: https://developers.google.com/speed/pagespeed/insights/
  7. Google Structured Data Testing Tool: https://search.google.com/structured-data/testing-tool/u/0/
  8. Bing Webmaster Tool: http://www.bing.com/toolbox/webmaster
  9. QuickSprout: https://www.quicksprout.com/
  10. SimilarWeb: https://www.similarweb.com/
  11. BrowSeo: http://www.browseo.net/
  12. SEO SiteCheckup: https://seositecheckup.com/
  13. Robots.txt Genertaor: http://www.yellowpipe.com/yis/tools/robots.txt/
  14. XML Sitemap Generator: https://www.xml-sitemaps.com/
  15. Bulk DA Alexa Checker: http://www.freebulkseotools.com/bulk-pr-da-alexa-checker.php
  16. Xenu’s Link Sleuth: http://home.snafu.de/tilman/xenulink.html
  17. REDbot: https://redbot.org/
  18. Keyword Density Checker: https://www.seocentro.com/tools/seo/keyword-density.html
  19. SEO Workers: http://www.seoworkers.com/tools/analyzer.html
  20. WooRank – SEO Audit: https://www.woorank.com/
  21. Found – SEO Audit Tool: https://www.found.co.uk/seo-tool/
  22. SEMrush: https://www.semrush.com/
  23. SERPs Rank Checker: https://serps.com/tools/rank-checker/
  24. Remove’em – Anchor Text Optimization Tool: https://www.removeem.com/anchor-text-ratios/
  25. JSON-LD Schema Generator: https://hallanalysis.com/json-ld-generator/
  26. SEO Quake: https://www.seoquake.com/index.html
  27. AuthorityLabs – SEO Tracking: https://authoritylabs.com/
  28. DeepCrawl: https://www.deepcrawl.com/
  29. Raven Tools: https://www.deepcrawl.com/
  30. SEO PowerSuite: https://www.seopowersuite.com/
  31. SearchMetrics Suite: https://www.seopowersuite.com/

Keyword Research Tools

  1. Google Keyword Planner: https://adwords.google.com/KeywordPlanner
  2. Moz Keyword Explorer: https://moz.com/explorer
  3. Keyword Tool: http://keywordtool.io/
  4. Kwfinder: https://kwfinder.com/
  5. Soovle:http://www.soovle.com/
  6. SERPs KW Research: https://serps.com/tools/keyword-research/
  7. UberSuggest: https://ubersuggest.io/
  8. SEMrush: https://www.semrush.com
  9. Answer The Public – Visual KW Research: http://answerthepublic.com/
  10. Google Trends: https://trends.google.com/trends/
  11. Google Correlate: https://www.google.com/trends/correlate/

Top Backlinks Checker Tools

Note that these all have their own metrics/ calculations, different size of indexes that’s why they offer results, different to each other.

  1. Ahrefs: https://ahrefs.com/
  2. Small SEO Tools: http://smallseotools.com/backlink-checker/
  3. Majestic SEO: https://majestic.com/
  4. SEMrush: https://www.semrush.com/
  5. Moz Open Site Explorer: https://moz.com/researchtools/ose/
  6. Backlink Watch: http://www.backlinkwatch.com/
  7. Rank Signals: https://www.ranksignals.com/
  8. Caphyon: http://www.advancedlinkmanager.com/
  9. Google Webmaster aka Search Console: https://www.google.com/webmasters/
  10. Yahoo/Bing Webmaster: http://www.bing.com/toolbox/webmaster/
  11. Open Link Profiler: http://www.openlinkprofiler.org/
  12. SEO PowerSuite – WebMeUp: http://webmeup.com/
  13. SEO Powersuite – SEO Spyglass: http://www.seo-spyglass.com/
  14. Monitor Backlinks: https://monitorbacklinks.com/seo-tools/free-backlink-checker
  15. SEO Chat Internal/External Link Analyzer: http://tools.seochat.com/tools/page-link-analyzer-seo/
  16. Linkody: https://www.linkody.com/
  17. Traffic Travis: https://www.traffictravis.com/
  18. MoonSearch: http://www.moonsearch.com/
  19. CognitiveSEO: https://explorer.cognitiveseo.com/
  20. Kerboo: https://kerboo.com/solutions/backlink-analysis
  21. Link Research Tools: http://www.linkresearchtools.com/index-2/
  22. Google Link Operator: https://www.google.co.in/#q=link:deepanshugahlaut.com+-site:deepanshugahlaut.com
  23. Search Metrics: https://suite.searchmetrics.com/en/research/links/backlink-analysis/
  24. Alexa: http://www.alexa.com

Social Media Scheduling and Management

  1. Hootsuite: http://www.hootsuite.com/
  2. BufferApp: http://www.bufferapp.com/
  3. Social Oomph: https://www.socialoomph.com/
  4. Hashtagify: http://hashtagify.me/
  5. Friends+Me: https://friendsplus.me/
  6. SproutSocial: http://sproutsocial.com/
  7. CoSchedule: https://coschedule.com/
  8. Twitter – TweetDeck: https://tweetdeck.twitter.com/

Social Media Count Tools

  1. Shared Count: http://www.sharedcount.com/
  2. Varvy – Social Media Count Tool: https://varvy.com/tools/social/
  3. Buzzswmo Chrome Extension: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/buzzsumo

Duplicate Content Checker/Plagiarism Cheker:

  1. Copyscape: http://www.copyscape.com/
  2. Small SEO Tools – http://smallseotools.com/plagiarism-checker/
  3. Dupli Checker: https://www.duplichecker.com/
  4. Siteliner: http://www.siteliner.com/
  5. Plag Spotter: http://www.plagspotter.com/
  6. WebConfs – Similar Page Checker: http://www.webconfs.com/seo-tools/similar-page-checker/
  7. Plagiarisma: http://plagiarisma.net/
  8. Dupeoff: http://dupeoff.com/
  9. CopyGator: http://www.copygator.com/
  10. Hive Digital: https://www.hivedigital.com/free-tools/duplicate-content/
  11. Plagium: http://www.plagium.com/
  12. Article Checker: http://www.articlechecker.com/
  13. Copyact: http://www.copyact.info.pl/
  14. Dustball: http://www.dustball.com/cs/plagiarism.checker/
  15. Paper Rater: http://www.paperrater.com/

Note: This is not the final list, still in progress. If you have any tool, please share in comments to make the list better and help others.

It's only fair to share...Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Pin on Pinterest

3 Comments

  1. briggsjayson15@gmail.com'

    That’s the most extended list of seo tools I’ve ever seen 🙂 Thanks for that! I know one more duplicate content checker that’s not on your list and if I may contribute, here’s the address: copyact.com
    All the best,
    Jayson

  2. erling@tinyrocketlab.com'

    I have a suggested addition to the list: http://www.tinyranker.com. It’s a super simple Google rank checker, with a free 30 day trial period. We’re also working on creating a completely free tier, where you can monitor 3 keywords for free (indefinitely). Would love it if you could add it to your list 🙂

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*